Michael K. Williams and Andy Garcia Join Paul Feig’s “Ghostbusters”


by Justin Cook

The cast of Paul Feig’s Ghostbusters reboot continues to grow, as actors Michael K. Williams, Andy Garcia, Cecily Strong and Matt Walsh have signed on to the upcoming film.

They will be joining a cast of such strong comedic talents as Kristen Wiig, Melissa McCarthy, Kate McKinnon, and Leslie Jones. Thor star Chris Hemsworth also has a part in the film as the team’s receptionist Kevin.

In the original report, which came from The Wrap, it was also confirmed that Garcia will be playing the Mayor of New York City, a role actor David Margulies played in both 1984’s Ghostbusters and 1989’s Ghostbusters II.

On the other hand, Williams, who just acted alongside Wiig in the IFC miniseries The Spoils Before Dying, is set to play a character named Hawkins. Williams is perhaps best known for his work as Omar Little on The Wire, but the actor has also appeared in numerous films in recent years, including as 12 Years a Slave, Inherent Vice and The Gambler.

Walsh, who stars on HBO’s political comedy Veep, will play a character named Rourke in the film. In the past, Walsh has appeared in such well-received comedies as Old School, The Hangover and Ted.

Strong’s exact role in the film is still unknown, but regardless, she will be reunited with McKinnon and Jones, her fellow Saturday Night Live cast members.

Feig is currently coming off of the McCarthy-led summer comedy Spy, which has not only performed nicely at the box office, but also earned the director rave reviews. The film was Feig’s third collaboration with McCarthy, as he also worked with the actress on 2011’s Bridesmaids (along with Wiig) and 2013’s The Heat. He has a near spotless track record and has become perhaps the most reliable comedy director working today.

Ghostbusters will be hitting theaters on July 22, 2016.

Source: The Wrap

Your Vote

0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.