The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society 2nd Annual Midseason Award Winners

The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society 2ndAnnual Midseason Award Winners


Over the weekend, the members of the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society voted for their 2ndAnnual Midseason Awards. The twelve categories highlighted various films that were released from January 1, 2019 to June 30, 2019 including a category where the members voted on which upcoming release for the 2ndhalf of 2019 they were most excited to see.

Olivia Wilde’s Booksmartwas the biggest winner of the Midseason Awards taking home a total of five awards including Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Female Director for Olivia Wilde. Jordan Peele’s Usand Dexter Fletcher’s Rocketman are tied for second place with a total of two wins each. Uswon Best Actress for Lupita Nyong’o and Best Male Director for Jordan Peele while Rocketmantook home Best Actor for Taron Egerton and Best Supporting Actor for Jamie Bell.

A full list of winners and the runner-ups can be found below:

Best Picture



Best Actor

Winner: Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Runner-Up:Robert Downey Jr, Avengers: Endgame

Best Actress

Winner: Lupita Nyong’o, Us

Runner-Up: Beanie Feldstein, Booksmart

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Jamie Bell, Rocketman 

Runner-Up: Ben Mendelsohn, Captain Marvel

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Billie Lourd, Booksmart 

Runner-Up: Naomi Scott, Aladdin

Best Male Director

Winner: Jordan Peele, Us

Runner-Up: Dexter Fletcher, Rocketman

Best Female Director

Winner: Olivia Wilde, Booksmart  

Runner-Up:Laure de Clermont-Tonnerre, The Mustang

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Booksmart, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Susanna Fogel, & Katie Silberman

Runner-Up: Us, Jordan Peele

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Toy Story 4, Andrew Stanton & Stephany Folsom

Runner-Up:Avengers: Endgame, Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely

Best Indie Film

Winner: Booksmart

Runner-Up:The Souvenir

Best Streaming Movie or TV Series

 Winner: When They See Us, Netflix

Runner-Up:Always Be My Maybe, Netflix

Most Anticipated Film for the Second Half of 2019

Winner: Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Runner-Up: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker


Founded in late 2016, the creation of the LAOFCS was to promote inclusion in film criticism while being an organization that promotes and celebrates film year-round. The LAOFCS is made up of 49 members who live or reside in the LA area. Each January, our application period opens and remains open until the end of March.

LAOFCS current members are Aaron Neuwirth, Abbie Bernstein, Alexander Robinson, Alicia Malone, Angelique Jackson, Ashley Menzel, Carla Renata, Christopher James, Dan Murrell, David Bax, Debbie Lynn Elias, Demetri Panos, Elizabeth Stanton, Eric Eisenberg, Heather A. Wixson, James Oster, Jami Philbrick, Jana N. Nagase, Jazz Tangcay, Joel D. Amos, John Rocha, Karen M. Peterson, Katie Kilkenny, Kevin O’ Keeffe, Kevin Taft, Kit Bowen, Lauren Huff, Liz Shannon Miller, Luis Lecca, Lupe Rodriguez  Haas, Maggie Ma, Mark Pacis, Michael J Lee, Michael Sandoval, Morgan Rojas, Nestor Bentancor, Nikki Novak, Peter Sciretta, Rama Tampubolon, Scott Mantz, Scott Mendelson, Scott Menzel, Simon Thompson, Staci Layne Wilson, Stephen Saito, Terence Johnson, Wendy Lee, William Bibbiani, and Witney Seibold.

Where to find us:

Facebook, Twitter,

Contact Us:

Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society

Your Vote

1 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.