The 2nd Annual LAOFCS Award Winners Revealed!

The 2nd Annual LAOFCS Award Winners Revealed!

The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society is pleased to announce the winners of their 2nd Annual LAOFCS Awards. Fox’s The Hate U Give leads this year’s winners with a total of four awards including Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay. Bo Burnham’s Eighth Grade will take home Best Independent Film, Best First Feature, and Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under for Elsie Fisher.

The Best Actor at this year’s ceremony will be Rami Malek for his incredible performance as Freddie Mercury in Bohemian Rhapsody while Toni Collette will receive Best Actress for her brilliant yet terrifying performance in A24’s Hereditary.

Spike Lee’s BlacKklansman wins Best Male Director while Lynne Ramsay‘s You Were Never Really Here wins Best Female Director. Netflix and Alfonso Cuarón’s Roma cleaned up the Best Foreign Film category as well as Best Cinematography.

Other big winners include Fox Searchlight’s The Favourite which won two awards: Best Comedy and Best Cast. Paramount’s Mission: Impossible Fallout won Best Action Film as well as Best Stunt Work. Disney and Marvel’s record-breaking Black Panther will take home this year’s Best Blockbuster award, while John Krasinski’s smash horror hit, A Quiet Place won Best Sci-Fi/Horror.

On Tuesday, December 11, 2018, the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society will be announcing their special award list for their ceremony including this year’s Trailblazer Award winner, the LAOFCS Acting Achievement Award winner, and the Directing Achievement Award winner.

The Los Angeles Film Online Film Critics Society’s 2nd annual awards ceremony honoring excellence in films and filmmaking in 2018, will be held on Wednesday, January 9th, 2019 at the Taglyan Complex in Los Angeles. Individual Awards will be handed out to each of the winners at the event.

A complete list of all the winners are listed below:

Best Picture: The Hate U Give (Fox)

Best Actor:  Rami Malek – Bohemian Rhapsody (Fox)

Best Actress: Toni Collette – Hereditary (A24)

Best Supporting Actor: (TIE) Mahershala Ali – Green Book(Universal) and Russell Hornsby – The Hate U Give (Fox)

Best Supporting Actress: Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna)

Best Performance by an Actor 23 and Under: (TIE) Lucas Hedges – Ben Is Back (Roadside Attractions) and Alex Wolff –Hereditary (A24)

Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under: Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Breakthrough Performance: Amandla Stenberg – The Hate U Give (Fox)

Best Cast: The Favourite (Fox Searchlight)

Best Female Director: Lynne Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here (Amazon)

Best Male Director: Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman (Focus)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Audrey Wells – The Hate U Give (Fox)

 Best Original Screenplay: Adam McKay – Vice (Annapurna)

Best Action Film: Mission: Impossible – Fallout (Paramount)

Best Animated Film: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (Sony)

Best Blockbuster: Black Panther (Disney)

Best Comedy/Musical: The Favourite (Fox Searchlight)

Best Documentary: Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (Focus)

Best First Feature: Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Foreign Film: Roma (Netflix)

Best Indie Film: Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Sci-Fi/Horror: A Quiet Place (Paramount)

Best Cinematography: Alfonso Cuarón – Roma (Netflix)

Best Editing: Nicholas D. Johnson and Will Merrick – Searching (Sony)

Best Original Song: Shallow – A Star is Born (Warner Brothers)

Best Score: Nicholas Britell –If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna)

Best Stunts: Mission: Impossible Fallout (Paramount)

Best Visual Effects: Avengers: Infinity War (Disney)

Best Visual Effects or Animated Performance: Josh Brolin and Digital Domain- Avengers: Infinity War (Disney)

Your Vote

1 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.