‘If Beale Street Could Talk,’ ‘Roma’ Top First Annual GWNYFCA Awards

If Beale Street Could Talk - GWNYFCA Awards

Barry Jenkins’ ‘If Beale Street Could Talk’ Takes Home Five GWNYFCA Awards

The Greater Western New York Film Critics Association (GWNYFCA) have announced their winners for achievement in film for calendar year of 2018. Nominees were announced on December 19th.

Best Picture:
• BlacKkKlansman
• Burning
• The Favourite
• First Reformed
If Beale Street Could Talk *WINNER*
• Leave No Trace
• Minding the Gap
• Paddington 2
• Roma
• Widows

Best Foreign Film:
Border (Gräns) – Sweden (TIE) *WINNER*
Burning (Beoning) – South Korea (TIE) *WINNER*
• Cold War (Zimna wojna) – Poland
• Roma – Mexico
• Shoplifters (Manbiki kazoku) – Japan

Best Animated Film:
• Incredibles 2
• Isle of Dogs
• Mirai
• Ralph Breaks the Internet
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse *WINNER*
• Teen Titans GO! to the Movies

Best Documentary:
• Free Solo
Minding the Gap *WINNER*
• Shirkers
• Three Identical Strangers
• Won’t You Be My Neighbor

Best Director:
• Lee Chang-dong (Burning)
• Alfonso Cuarón (Roma)
• Debra Granik (Leave No Trace)
Barry Jenkins (If Beale Street Could Talk) *WINNER*
• Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman)
• Paul Schrader (First Reformed)

Lead Actor:
• Bradley Cooper (A Star Is Born)
• Daveed Diggs (Blindspotting)
Ethan Hawke (First Reformed) *WINNER*
• Joaquin Phoenix (You Were Never Really Here)
• Charlie Plummer (Lean on Pete)
• John David Washington (BlacKkKlansman)

Lead Actress:
Yalitza Aparicio (Roma) *WINNER*
Glenn Close (The Wife)
• Toni Collette (Hereditary)
• Elsie Fisher (Eighth Grade)
• Lady Gaga (A Star Is Born)
• Carey Mulligan (Wildlife)

Supporting Actor:
• Mahershala Ali (Green Book)
• Hugh Grant (Paddington 2)
• Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)
• Russell Hornsby (The Hate U Give)
Steven Yeun (Burning) *WINNER*

Supporting Actress:
• Nicole Kidman (Boy Erased)
Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk) *WINNER*
• Emma Stone (The Favourite)
• Tilda Swinton (Suspiria)
• Rachel Weisz (The Favourite)
• Michelle Yeoh (Crazy Rich Asians)

Original Screenplay:
• Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)
• Deborah Davis & Tony McNamara (The Favourite)
• Paul Schrader (First Reformed)
• Bryan Woods & Scott Beck and John Krasinski (A Quiet Place)
Boots Riley (Sorry to Bother You) *WINNER*

Adapted Screenplay:
• Charlie Wachtel & David Rabinowitz and Kevin Willmott & Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman)
• Jungmi Oh & Chang-dong Lee (Burning)
• Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)
Barry Jenkins (If Beale Street Could Talk) *WINNER*
• Eric Roth and Bradley Cooper & Will Fetters (A Star Is Born)
• Gillian Flynn & Steve McQueen (Widows)

Best Cinematography:
• Lukasz Zal (Cold War)
• Linus Sandgren (First Man)
• James Laxton (If Beale Street Could Talk)
Alfonso Cuarón (Roma) *WINNER*
• Matthew Libatique (A Star Is Born)

Best Editing:
• Tom Cross (First Man)
Joi McMillon & Nat Sanders (If Beale Street Could Talk) *WINNER*
• Joshua Altman & Bing Liu (Minding the Gap)
• Jay Cassidy (A Star Is Born)
• Joe Walker (Widows)

Best Debut Performance:
Yalitza Aparicio (Roma) *WINNER*
• Elsie Fisher (Eighth Grade)
• Helena Howard (Madeline’s Madeline)
• Brady Jandreau (The Rider)
• Thomasin McKenzie (Leave No Trace)

Best Debut Director:
• Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)
• Bradley Cooper (A Star Is Born)
• Paul Dano (Wildlife)
• Bing Liu (Minding the Gap)
Boots Riley (Sorry to Bother You) *WINNER*

For more information about GWYNFCA, check out their official page or on Twitter – #GWNYFCA2018Awards.

Written by
Matt Marshall has been reviewing films since 2003, starting with "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King." He specializes in home media, including 4K UHD, Blu-ray as well as box office analysis. He has a B.A. in Communications/Journalism from St. John Fisher College and resides in Rochester, NY.

Your Vote

2 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.